Positively Bob Dylan

Fine Bob Dylan stuff. Since 1997.


Year: 2017
Produced by: Jack Frost (Bob Dylan)
14 of 30 songs rated
24 ratings in total
30 "American Standards", each disc includes 10 tracks and is thematically arranged and titled: "'Til the Sun Goes Down", "Devil Dolls", and "Comin' Home Late".

Recorded by: Al Schmitt
Horn arrangements and conducting: James Harper
Mastered by: Greg Calbi
Liner notes: Tom Piazza
Design: Geoff Gans
Photography by: John Shearer

Bob Dylan does not perform any instruments on this record. Vocals only.

Release date: March 31, 2017
Musicians: Tony Garnier (bass), Donnie Herron (steel guitar), Dean Parks (guit), George Recile (drums), Charlie Sexton (guit)

Track Song Ratings
1 I Guess I'll Have to Change My Plans (Arthur Schwartz, Howard Dietz)
2 votes
2 September of My Years (Jimmy Van Heusen, Sammy Cahn)
2 votes
1 comment
3 I Could Have Told You (Carl Sigman, Jimmy Van Heusen)
 Video available  
3 votes
4 Once Upon a Time (Charles Strouse, Lee Adams)
3 votes
5 Stormy Weather (Harold Arlen, Ted Koehler)
1 vote
6 This Nearly Was Mine (Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II)
1 vote
7 That Old Feeling (Sammy Fain, Lew Brown)
1 vote
8 It Gets Lonely Early (Gordon Jenkins)
1 vote
9 My One and Only Love (Guy Wood, Robert Mellin)
 Video available  
1 vote
10 Trade Winds (Cliff Friend, Charles Tobias)
1 vote
11 Braggin' (Dick Haymes)
4 votes
12 As Time Goes By (Herman Hupfeld)
1 vote
13 Imagination (Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke)
14 How Deep is the Ocean (Irving Berlin)
15 P.S. I Love You (Gordon Jenkins, Johnny Mercer)
16 The Best Is Yet to Come (Cy Coleman, Carolyn Leigh)
1 vote
17 But Beautiful (Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke)
18 Here's That Rainy Day (Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke)
19 Where Is the One (Edwin Finckel, Alec Wilder)
20 There's a Flaw in My Flue (Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke)
21 Day In, Day Out (Rube Bloom, Johnny Mercer)
22 I Couldn't Sleep a Wink Last Night (Jimmy McHugh, Harold Adamson)
23 Sentimental Journey (Arthur Green, Les Brown, Ben Homer)
24 Somewhere Along the Way (Jimmy Van Heusen, Sammy Gallop)
25 When the World Was Young (Philippe-GĂ©rard, Johnny Mercer)
26 These Foolish Things (Eric Maschwitz, Jack Strachey)
27 You Go to My Head (J. Fred Coots, Haven Gillespie)
28 Stardust (Hoagy Carmichael, Mitchell Parish)
 Video available  
2 votes
1 comment
29 It's Funny to Everyone but Me (Jack Lawrence)
30 Why Was I Born (Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern)

From the archives

Original Mono Recordings released
  RECORDS | Oct 15, 2010
'Cross the Green Mountain
  MEDIA, RECORDS | Apr 3, 2003
When Bob Met Woody
  ART, BOOKS | Mar 31, 2011
"Duquesne Whistle" video premieres on guardian.co.uk
  MEDIA, RECORDS | Aug 29, 2012
Come gather 'round, Bobfans!
  WEB | Feb 24, 2006
Unreleased Dylan performances to be included on new DVD
  LIVE, MEDIA | Aug 3, 2005
New Dylan exhibition in Berlin
  ART, EVENTS | Mar 19, 2009
Lost Wilburys recordings to be released
  PEOPLE, RECORDS | Aug 23, 2004
Tell Tale Signs
  RECORDS | Aug 10, 2008
Bob Dylan poetry special
  ART, WEB | Feb 13, 2009

Essential albums

Click here to view all albums