Positively Bob Dylan

Fine Bob Dylan stuff. Since 1997.

The Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest

(Bob Dylan)

From the album: John Wesley Harding (1968)

 4.2/5 (93 votes)

1 comment

Bill Cohen -Don't Go Mistaking Paradise For that Home Across The Road.- I loved this album from the moment I got it. To me, some of the songs were really important. St. Augustine, Lonely Hobo, Poor Immigrant, but especially The Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest. I was fascinated by the fact that everything was there in the lyrics, yet it was impossible for me to figure out what he wanted to transmit. Dylan can tie you up with words and lyrics, and people write endlessley about what they think he was "Really" saying. He does it again in this song, and tells you at the end that "Nothing is revealed" Bob Dylan is not thrilled about people diagnosing and offering psychoanalytic explainations of the "real " him. So, in the end he finally lets you off the hook, and tells you he moral of the story and song. It's real simple and real profound also. It is easy to understand, but difficult to do. Well, the moral of this story, the moral of this song is simply that one should never be where one does not belong. So when you see your neighbor carryin' somethin' help him with his load, And don't go Mistaking Paradise For That home across The Road. The Moral is exactly what Jesus tells us about life. Enjoy God- help people- fight against envy desire and jealousy. Dylan's theme in so many of his writings follows a religious theme,a Christian theme across The Road May 18, 2007
[New code]

Related songs & albums

All songs on John Wesley Harding
Track Song
1 John Wesley Harding (Bob Dylan)
2 As I Went Out One Morning (Bob Dylan)
3 I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine (Bob Dylan)
4 All Along the Watchtower (Bob Dylan)
5 The Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest (Bob Dylan)
6 Drifter's Escape (Bob Dylan)
7 Dear Landlord (Bob Dylan)
8 I Am a Lonesome Hobo (Bob Dylan)
9 I Pity the Poor Immigrant (Bob Dylan)
10 The Wicked Messenger (Bob Dylan)
11 Down Along the Cove (Bob Dylan)
12 I'll Be Your Baby Tonight (Bob Dylan)
The Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest appears on these albums
Year Album
1968 John Wesley Harding