Positively Bob Dylan

Fine Bob Dylan stuff. Since 1997.

Walls of Red Wing

(Bob Dylan)

From the album: The Bootleg Series Vol. 1-3 (1991)

 3.4/5 (23 votes)


Mac A book entitled:Red Wing, A Year And A Day (Norsky Publishing) seems to negate the observation that Dylan never actually spent time in that juvenile institution. According to its author (Larry Haugen), Dylan was actually incarcerated there for a short time in 1958. A rather short chapter in his book details that period of time. Dec 21, 2007
Bill Cohen To me, this has been a powerful song. Redwing is a Juvenile correctional facility in Minnesota. It is otherwise known as a (juvie prison). The fact that Dylan was never personally an inmate at Redwing, he knows what happens to these kids. Having done a great deal of consulting at the prison systems in New Jersey, USA, the only chance to save these kids psychologically is at the facilities that serve youngsters. NJ State Home For Boys & State Home for Girls there is little encouragement to reform, irrespective of the fact that there are many trained psychologists and social workers employed there. In my experience, the kids are threatened by House Parents (guards), and terrorized with extended time of incarceration for the slightest infraction. The kids learn to hate the authority of the adult bullying and taunting. Irrespective of the institutions claim of "rehabilitation" I never saw much. As Dylan so skillfully points out, by and large, these kids are tortured mentally and abused phusically, and in some instances sexually "behind the wood pilin'". The recidivism rate is very high, and the abusive treatment, and lack of respect for these kids is pretty heartbreaking. Dylan is amazing in the sense that he does not actually have to be one of the inmates to be able to articulate exactly what goes on in thes facilities for children and adolescents. His brilliance and insight never fails to just grasp me. Sep 11, 2006
[New code]

Related songs & albums

All songs on The Bootleg Series Vol. 1-3
Track Song
1 Hard Times in New York Town (Bob Dylan)
2 He Was a Friend of Mine (Traditional)
3 Man on the Street (Bob Dylan)
4 No More Auction Block (Live) (Traditional)
5 House Carpenter (Traditional)
6 Talkin' Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues (Bob Dylan)
7 Let Me Die in My Footsteps (Bob Dylan)
8 Ramblin' Gamblin' Willie (Bob Dylan)
9 Talkin' Have Negeilah Blues (Bob Dylan)
10 Quit Your Low Down Ways (Bob Dylan)
11 Worried Blues (Traditional)
12 Kingsport Town (Traditional)
13 Walkin' Down the Line (Bob Dylan)
14 Walls of Red Wing (Bob Dylan)
15 Paths of Victory (Bob Dylan)
16 Talkin' John Birch Paranoid Blues (Live 1963) (Bob Dylan)
17 Who Killed Davey Moore? (Live 1963) (Bob Dylan)
18 Only a Hobo (Bob Dylan)
19 Moonshiner (Traditional)
20 When the Ship Comes In (Bob Dylan)
21 The Times They Are A-Changin' (piano version) (Bob Dylan)
23 Seven Curses (Bob Dylan)
24 Eternal Circle (Bob Dylan)
25 Suze (The Cough Song) (Bob Dylan)
26 Mama, You Been on My Mind (Bob Dylan)
27 Farewell, Angelina (Bob Dylan)
28 Subterranean Homesick Blues (Bob Dylan)
29 If You Gotta Go, Go Now (Bob Dylan)
30 Sitting on a Barbed Wire Fence (Bob Dylan)
31 Like a Rolling Stone (Alternate Take) (Bob Dylan)
32 It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry (Alternate Version) (Bob Dylan)
33 I'll Keep It With Mine (Bob Dylan)
34 She's Your Lover Now (Bob Dylan)
35 I Shall Be Released (Bob Dylan)
36 Santa-Fe (Bob Dylan)
37 If Not For You (Alternate Version) (Bob Dylan)
38 Wallflower (Bob Dylan)
39 Nobody 'Cept You (Bob Dylan)
40 Tangled Up in Blue (Bob Dylan)
41 Call Letter Blues (Bob Dylan)
42 Idiot Wind (Bob Dylan)
43 If You See Her, Say Hello (Bob Dylan)
44 Golden Loom (Bob Dylan)
45 Catfish (Dylan/Levy)
46 Seven Days (Live 1976) (Bob Dylan)
47 Ye Shall Be Changed (Bob Dylan)
48 Every Grain of Sand (Bob Dylan)
49 You Changed My Life (Bob Dylan)
50 Need a Woman (Bob Dylan)
51 Angelina (Bob Dylan)
52 Someone's Got a Hold of My Heart (Bob Dylan)
53 Tell Me (Bob Dylan)
54 Lord Protect My Child (Bob Dylan)
55 Foot of Pride (Bob Dylan)
56 Blind Willie McTell (Bob Dylan)
57 When the Night Comes Falling from the Sky (Original Version) (Bob Dylan)
58 Series of Dreams (Bob Dylan)
Walls of Red Wing appears on these albums
Year Album
1991 The Bootleg Series Vol. 1-3
2000 The Essential Bob Dylan